

REPORT FROM THE COMMISSION ON MINISTRY 2017-18

The Commission on Ministry serves as an advisor to the Bishop for those preparing for ministry both lay and ordained. In accordance with Title III, Canon 2.2 of the Canons of the Episcopal Church, the Commission on Ministry (COM) is governed by the following principle: *The Commission shall advise and assist the Bishop in the implementation of Title III of these Canons, in the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons, and in the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefor.*

The 2017-18 Commission on Ministry is composed of the Rev. Patrick Campbell, the Venerable Janice Grinnell, the Rev. Sandra Haines-Murdocco, the Rev. Timothy Rich, the Rev. Mark Sutherland, and the Rev. Joan Testin and lay members Ms. Murry Edwards, Canon Betsy Fornal, Ms. Betsey Rice, Mr. Ken Stomberg and Dr. Grant Willis, who serve staggered three-year terms.

In between Convention 2017 and Convention 2018 the Commission recommended to the Bishop the following:

Michele Adamo admission as postulant for the vocational diaconate
Edward Beaudreau for ordination to the priesthood
Charles Cowen for ordination to the transitional diaconate and to the priesthood
Julianne Hanavan for ordination to the priesthood
Robert Izzi for ordination to the vocational diaconate
Andrew Kryzak for postulancy, candidacy and ordination to the transitional diaconate
Della Wager Wells for candidacy and ordination to the transitional diaconate

The Commission continues to assist congregations as they participate in the church-level discernment processes of individuals who are exploring calls to ordained ministry.

Respectfully submitted,

Canon Betsy Fornal Chair, Commission on Ministry