Standing Committee Meeting Minutes January 17, 2023

Present:

The Rev. Susan Wrathall, President. The Rev. Canon Elizabeth Habecker, Secretary. The Rev. Jackie Kirby, Mr. W. Grant Willis, Dr. Rebecca Silliman, The Rev. Kevin Beesley, Mr. Orville Forbes.

Absent:

Mr. David Monroe.

The President opened the meeting at 4:05.

The Opening prayer was offered by The Rev. Kevin Beesley.

The agenda was approved with one addition.

- 1. The Minutes of the December meeting were approved. Kirby/Beesley.
- 2. Informal time was taken so the SC members could become better acquinted as we begin the new year with three new members.
- 3. The President announced that all the necessary paperwork from St. Luke's in Greenwich for their stained glass window project had been handed in.
- 4. The corrected by-laws from Trinity Church, Newport have been submitted to the Chancellor of the diocese for final approval.
- 5. The Rev. Kirby presented materials:
 - a. concerning the Standing Committee process for any church applying for Standing Committee permission to borrow money or to sell or acquire church property. She and Canon Liz are gathering the materials so the SC members have clarity for their role.
 - b. A description of the canonical role of the Standing Committee in the diocesan structure.

The goal is to have a finished product that each member, current and future, of the SC will have for a better understanding. A "job description" for us. This is a work in progress and will also have to be approved by the Bishop. We are now waiting for input from the finance committee who is advisory to our decision making process.

- 6. Request to approve the election of Bishop Melissa Skelton as Bishop Provisional of the Diocese of Olympia. After determining that all due processes were followed. Silliman/Kirby moved and seconded and the vote was unanimous for approval.
- 7. The Bishop's time followed the conclusion of the regular meeting.

NEXT MEETING 4pm. FEBRUARY 28TH

Respectfully submitted, The Rev. Canon Elizabeth Habecker Secretary

Standing Committee members as of January, 2023

The Rev. Canon Elizabeth Habecker, Secretary (2023) St. Paul's, Portsmouth

Mr. Orville Forbes (2023) Transfiguration, Cranston

The Rev. Susan Wrathall, President (2024) St. Mark's, Warwick

Dr. Rebecca Silliman (2024) *All Saints, Providence*

The Rev. Jackie Kirby (2025) Chaplain, St. George's School, Middletown

Mr. David Monroe (2025)

Emmanuel Church, Newport

The Rev. Kevin Beesley (2026) St. John The Evangelist, Newport

Mr. W. Grant Willis (2026) Church of the Redeemer, Providence