REPORT FROM THE COMMISSION ON MINISTRY

2022 - 2023

The Commission on Ministry serves in an advisory capacity to the Bishop regarding those preparing for ministry both lay and ordained. In accordance with Title III, Canon 2.2 of the Canons of the Episcopal Church, the Commissions on Ministry (COM) is governed by the following principle: *The Commission shall advise and assist the Bishop in the implementation of Title III of these Canons, in the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons, and in the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefor.*

The 2022-23 Commission on Ministry is composed of the Rev. Linda Griggs, the Rev. Jonathan Huyck, the Rev. Maryalice Sullivan, the Rev. Craig Swan, the Rev. Joan Testin, Ms. Murry Edwards, Canon Betsy Fornal, Dr. Patricia Morokoff, Mr. Donald Peach, and Mr. Ken Stomberg, who serve staggered three-year terms. The Rev. Canon Dena Cleaver-Bartholomew serves as staff for the COM.

In between Convention 2022 and Convention 2023, the Commission recommended to the Bishop the following actions:

- forward to the Standing Committee the COM's recommendation that Andrea Hutnak be ordained to the diaconate;
- forward to the Standing Committee the COM's recommendations that Virginia Buckles be made a candidate and subsequently that she be ordained to the transitional diaconate;
- grant postulancy to Thomas Hobin as he continues to discern his call to the diaconate
- forward to the Standing Committee the COM's recommendation that that Drake Douglas be made a candidate;
- grant postulancy to Ronald Bailey as he continues to discern his call to the diaconate;
- grant postulancy to Thomas May as he continues to discern his call to the diaconate.

Currently, the following people are postulants for Holy Orders:

For the Priesthood:

Drake Douglas - recommended to the Bishop and Standing Committee for candidacy 9/30/23

Jae Rice

For the Diaconate:

Ronald Bailey

Thomas Hobin

Thomas May

Part of the work of the Commission is to assist the Bishop by encouraging those who seek to discern God's call to them and by helping to identify appropriate programs for formation. The Diocese utilizes on-line programs of study through Bexley-Seabury Seminary to assist people in discerning their call and another which will prepare people to be licensed Lay Preachers.

The Bishop licensed as Pastoral Leaders Eduardo Espinal and Jose Rosario of La Iglesia de la Ascension in Cranston. A Pastoral Leader is a lay person authorized to exercise pastoral or administrative responsibility in a congregation under special circumstances, as defined by the Bishop.

Respectfully submitted,

Elizabeth Fornal

Canon Elizabeth Fornal Chair, Commission on Ministry