Diocesan Committees

The diocese is served by clergy and laity from our congregations who set priorities, establish policies and procedures, monitor finances and find ways to support congregations and their leaders as they carry out the mission of the church. The leadership groups are included below.  A current list of members and their terms can be found HERE.

The Standing Committee serves as a council of advice to the bishop, must approve the sale or encumbrance of all church property, is responsible for ensuring that the bishop’s ordination candidates have met all of the canonical requirements and gives consent to the election of bishops in other dioceses. Minutes will be found HERE.

The Diocesan Council, which exercises the powers of the Diocesan Convention between its meetings, develops and implements the policies, programs, mission and budgets of the diocese. It appoints and/or oversees the committees that manage diocesan funds and expenditures or programs. Minutes will be found HERE.

The Commission on Finance (COF) advises the Diocesan Council on administration of the operating budget of the diocese. They also review and recommend action on loans from the revolving loan fund and assist congregations, when requested, on financial matters.

The Committee on Compensation and Benefits is a committee of Diocesan Council that recommends the minimum salary guidelines, health and dental insurance plans, sabbatical policies and other salary and benefit matters.

The Commission on Congregational Development (CDC) supports congregations through grants, resources, consultation and assistance, especially in the areas of strategic planning, stewardship, evangelism and church growth. The CDC also coordinates leadership, lay ministry and the safe church training programs.

The Commission on Ministry advises and assists the bishop in the design and oversight of the ordination process, in the formation of candidates for ordination and in the determination of the present and future needs for the ministry of the laity and clergy. It is also responsible for overseeing the discernment process for ordained and lay ministries.

The Commission on Investments is responsible for overseeing diocesan and church funds in the Diocesan Investment Trust (DIT).

The Commission on Supplementary Benefits is a sub-committee of Diocesan Council that administers a trust fund that provides health care benefit assistance to retired canonically resident clergy, their spouses and dependents.

The Episcopal Charities Fund Advisory Board raises funds, receives and reviews grant applications and recommends grant distributions for the approval of the Diocesan Council.

The Episcopal Conference Center Advisory Board assists the Director in overseeing the ECC facility and programs.

Task Forces to research and make recommendations in a specific area or to oversee or implement a specific program are established and appointed by the bishop, Diocesan Council or Diocesan Convention.

Committees of the Convention are appointed by the Bishop. They include:

  • The Elections Committee which is responsible for receiving and recruiting nominees
  • The Resolutions Committee which is responsible for receiving and refining resolutions as well as offering resolutions, especially the courtesy resolutions
  • The Agenda Committee which is responsible for establishing the agenda for the Convention

If you think you are interested in serving on a Committee, please indicate your interest by completing this form.